Maybe we shouldn’t have gone all the way on our first time out

My husband and I try to fit exercise into our daily routine whenever we can. Exercising for us usually consists of taking a nice brisk walk through our neighborhood, about two to three miles an evening.

We both work sedentary desk jobs, which give us little to no opportunity for exercise. He works in the office, while I work from home. We have pretty much the same job duties which include staring at a computer monitor for eight to ten hours a day. No exercising here. Not unless you consider walking across the building for a restroom break as exercise.

Like I said, we try to fit exercise in whenever we can. That means that we sometimes forego our walks for a week or more. It’s not something that I like to do. Walking makes me feel good and the more I do it, the better I feel.

This evening, my husband asked me if I wanted to go walking. We hadn’t been out for over a week, so I agreed. We put on our walking shoes and left the house. Shortly after we left, my muscles started hating me. I started regretting the fact that we had not been walking on a daily basis.

As we started into our second mile, I made a comment about our walk.

“Maybe we shouldn’t have gone all the way on our first time out.”

Meaning maybe we should have only walked half the distance that we normally would have. Only because I was starting to feel a bit worn out.

My husband looked at me with a funny look on his face and I immediately realized why. We both started cracking up about what I had just said.

Those moments are the ones that make me realize that my husband is my perfect match. We ‘get’ each other. We are always finishing each others’ sentences. Always on the same brainwave.

He is my rock and I appreciate all the little things he does for me.

He makes me my own cup of coffee in the morning before he goes off to work.

Leaves me little post it notes that say I love you!

Brings me home a cupcake he saved from his department potluck.

All of these things may seem minute for most people, but for me, they mean the world. My husband truly loves me, and I him. Sometimes it can take a lifetime to find the person that you will spend the rest of your life with. I was just one of the lucky ones who didn’t need to wait that long.

As for exercising, I think we will try a little harder to squeeze that into our life. Because walking is not only good for the body and mind, but it is good for the soul.

Cherish your husband or wife. Take them for a nice walk. You will thank me later.

My husband Daniel and I as teenagers in 1994.

My husband Daniel and I as teenagers in 1994.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonnia
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 11:52:28

    Loved your story. You are a very good writer and should continue.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Mercury in Retro-Hate | Confessions of a crazy cat lady....minus the cat part
  3. Jennifer M
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 19:11:01

    Thank you Sonnia! That really means a lot coming from you:) Writing has always been my passion since I was young. I just lost it somewhere along the way, but now I am reacquainting myself with that long-lost love, and it feels amazing!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Mercury in Retro-Hate | Sometimes Truth is Stranger Than Fiction.

Leave a Reply

