How do you define happiness?

I reminisce about my childhood a lot. Probably more than I should.

I think about the times that I would get the urge to go roller skating. I would have to dig to the bottom of my closet to find my skates. White boots with bright orange wheels. I can still remember the sound that the wheels made when I spun them.

“Tssstssssstsssssssstsssssss” they would say to me, spinning around and around.

I loved the way those skates made me feel. As soon as I made the last loop to secure the skates snugly onto my feet, I was on the lacquered wood floor. Flying around the rink at full speed, while the cold air hit my face.

I make the first turn, crossing foot over foot for a smooth transition into the curve. A few other kids are skating around the rink. I smile at them as I pass and I feel…what’s that word? Oh yeah….happy.

Happiness. The happiness that goes along with being a child. The innocent, pure, uncorrupted happiness that you feel when you are that age. Nine, ten, eleven years old.

That is the age that you sit outside and eat your orange Popsicle as fast as you can before the blazing summer sun turns it into a sweet sticky glove all over your hand.

It’s the age when you ride your bike to your friends’ house, then call your mom to ask if you can stay the night.

When you have a pool party for your birthday, complete with a piñata shaped like your favorite Disney princess.

Now that I am an adult, I keep trying to find those “happy childhood” moments. I am afraid they just don’t exist anymore. All those happy childhood moments cannot be recreated. The innocence has been lost. The purity has been stolen. The corruption has taken over.

I would love to have just one more day, one more hour, one more second of my childhood back.

Maybe then I would not have been in such a hurry to grow up.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonnia
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 13:17:46

    Enjoyed your post

    Reply

Leave a Reply

